We will comfortably win all 3 seats: Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot on Rajya Sabha polls

Jaipur: Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Friday expressed confidence that his party – the Indian National Congress – would win the Rajya Sabha elections this year and that the Bharatiya Janata Party would “take care of their house”.

We are comfortably winning and the ones who need to take care of their house are the BJP. His party legislators did not like the way he fielded another candidate (independent candidate Subhash Chandra). There has been a statewide response … There have been unnecessary elections, or three Congress and one with the BJP. No one likes such acts. He had done the same thing in the last Rajya Sabha election and lost, ”Gehlot told media representatives after the vote.

Voting for four Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan Assembly will begin at 9 am and will be held till 4 pm. The countdown will begin at 5 pm.

Gehlot reached the assembly shortly before 9am, followed by buses carrying fellow Congress lawmakers. BJP MLAs also reached the assembly in two buses.

The BJP, on the other hand, has won both the seats. “We still retain our rights. BJP MLA and former minister Vasudev Devanani said the miracle will happen when the results are announced in the evening.

Congress MLA Rajendra Guda, Sandeep Yadav and Wajib Ali, who had been replaced by the Bahujan Samaj Party, also attended the assembly with CM to vote. “I am the second person to vote after the chief minister,” Gudha told reporters.

The Congress has fielded three candidates – Mukul Wasnik, Ranilip Surjewala and Pramod Tiwari, but the BJP has chosen former minister Ghanshyam Tiwari as the official candidate to replace Chandran. Tiwari had allegedly clashed with former BJP CM Vasundhara Raje.

The number game marks a comfortable victory for the Congress in three seats, with 126 MLAs, including 13 independents, CPM (2), Indian Tribal Party (2), and RLD (1) with their 108. The BJP has the strength of 71 MLAs.

In Rajasthan, a Rajya Sabha candidate needs 41 votes to win.

Media contestant Subhash Chandra’s nomination as an independent candidate has intrigued the competition. He has the support of 30 legislators and three from the National Lokpal Party (RLP), which garnered 33 votes, but still less than eight for the win.

Of the 200, Congress has 108, BJP 71, 13 Independent, RLP3, CPI (M) and BTP 2 MLAs.

Leave a Comment