Watch: Fokina gets knocked out of Wimbledon after smashing ball out of court | Tennis News

Wimbledon’s second-round match against Jiri Vesely on Wednesday was an unusual way for Alejandro Fokina to be knocked out. It was a marathon match between the two on Court 17, with Wesley leading 9-7 in the final set tie-breaker. Czech Wesley won the first set 6-3, while Fokina won the next two sets 7-5 7-6. Wesley stayed alive with another 6-3 win in the fourth game before moving on to the final set tie-breaker.

Fokina made a forced mistake during the tie-breaker, which gave Wesley a 9-7 lead that provoked an outburst from the Spanish tennis star, which eventually led him out of the Wimbledon Championships.

Also Read: WATCH: The tennis star forgot the rocket before the second round match at Wimbledon

After the error, Fokina furiously hit the ball off the court before preparing to serve to save the two-game score. The Chair umpire called the offense ‘ball abuse’ and charged Fokina with a point penalty that ultimately handed Wesley the win.

View Event:

However, tennis player John McEnroe was not pleased with the decision.

“I don’t agree with that. It’s insane… what a lousy way to end it,” McEnroe told ESPN after the game.

Davidovich Fokina was previously cited for a different code violation. When umpire Ramos made the final call of the match, Davidovich challenged Fokina’s verdict, saying his two references were to different violations.

But it doesn’t matter: two types of infractions during a match give the opponent a score. This was after Davidovich Fokina missed a forehand to give Wesley a 9-7 edge in the first-10 points, a win-by-two final-set tiebreaker.

Wesley will now face No. 30 seed Tommy Paul of the United States in the third round.


Close Story

Leave a Comment