Virtual Quarterfinal for Delhi Capitals, Will Arjun Tendulkar Get a Game Finally?

Mumbai: The Delhi Capitals will have their fortune in their hands as they aim to go all out against the season’s favorite leather boys of Mumbai Indians in what will be a virtual ‘quarter-final’ match in the IPL for Rishabh Pant’s men. While DC has everything to play for, MI will want to finish the season on a winning note although that wouldn’t count as much on the five-time champions, who have struggled due to poor auction strategy.

IPL full coverage | table | Results | orange hat | purple hat

what: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals Match 68

when: May 21 (Saturday)

where: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

time: 7:30 PM Indochina Time

indian news in mumbai

In the case of the Mumbai Indians, the only area of ​​interest is whether the son of legendary Sachin Tendulkar, Arjun, finally gets a match after warming the bench in 27 consecutive matches over two seasons.

Skipper Rohit Sharma indicated that they will be killing some new faces in the final. So far, 22 players have participated in 13 matches.

The equation is as simple as it can get for Capitals (+0.255) because you simply need to beat the Indians in Mumbai to outsmart Royal Challengers Bangalore (-0.253) on a better net run rate.

While MI endured its worst season this time around, the Capitals were guilty of inconsistency with seven wins and six defeats in their 13 games.

In fact, it was their win over RCB in the previous match that secured them full consecutive points.

Delhi Capitals News

There were days when capitals were unusual, as David Warner (427 points), Mitchell Marsh (251 points) or Rofman Powell (207 runs) upped the ante in batting. Spinners Kuldeep Yadav (20 wickets, 8.45), Axar Patel (6 wickets, 7.37) and Lalit Yadav (4 wickets, 8.33) have done well with the ball in a number of games.

However, there are two areas in which the Capitals have faltered this season. One was the velocity section which unleashed the coldness of the hot weather all the time, Khalil Ahmed memorized (16 wickets at 8.08). Shardol Thakur despite his 13 wickets, has admitted running with over nine runs each over.

Second and most important is the inability of the pant captain (301 runs) to turn some of his good starts into big scores.

What worked with DC toward the end of the business was Marsh’s half-century racquet shape that went a long way in keeping them alive.

Mustafizur Rahaman (8 wickets at 7.62) was brilliant in the matches he played but group requirements prevented Ricky Ponting from playing with him in more matches.

However, what will slightly ease the pressure on Ponting ahead of a high stakes match is Sarfaraz Khan’s opening form.

After Prithvi Shu became upset with a bout of typhoid (he is still recovering), Bunting used Kona Bharat and it didn’t work out well for the team.

Finally, Sarfraz actually appeared in the 16-ball 32 segment in the penultimate game, and Ponting is unlikely to mess with the set unless Shaw is fully fit.

As far as MI is concerned, the less talked about this season, the better for them.

Keeping NT Tilak Varma’s emergence as a neat hit, who could be the next MI legend along with Tim David, who took over from Kieron Pollard, there’s not much to write about.

Skipper Rohit would surely like to get past this ordeal and get some much-needed rest before the next round in England.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Bodhi, Ramandeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thambe, Hrithik Shokin, Jaspreet Pomrah, Jadev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Timal Morgans Asherwin Kartikeya Singh, Daniel Sams, Diwald Previs, Fabian Allen, Kiron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Goyal and Ishaan Kishan.

Delhi Capitals: Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (C), Ashwin Hepar, David Warner, Mandeep Singh, Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Anrish Norte, Chetan Sakarya, Khalil Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Najidi, Mustafazor Rahman, Chardol Thakur, Aksar Pasha , Kamlesh Nagarkote, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Praveen Dubey, Ripal Patel, Sarfraz Khan, Vicky Ostwal, Yash Dal, KS Bharat and Tim Seifert.

Get the latest updates on cricket news, cricket pictures and cricket videos IPL 2022 Live Updates And cricket scores are here

Leave a Comment