Tripura bypolls result: Counting of votes begins, CM Manik Saha’s fate hangs in balance among others

Vote counting for seats in four assembly divisions in Tripura began at 8am on Sunday at three locations in the state.

As per the timetable of the Election Commission of India (ECI), the votes cast for sub-districts are counted in the constituencies of Agartala and Town Bardowali, which are in West Tripura district, in the grounds of the Umakanta Academy in Agartala. The votes cast in the Surma constituency of Dhalai district of Kamalpur Senior Secondary District School are counted and the votes of the Gobarajnagar constituency in North Tripura are counted at the Bir Bikram Institution of that district.

According to polling officials, 78.58 percent of the votes were cast in these four seats on June 23, with opposition political parties alleging election violence that day.

The Election Commission imposed a strict set of instructions for counting hours, including restrictions under Article 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure in and around counting centers, massive security deployment of the Central Armed Police Forces, and security clearance of 200 meters from the area around counting centers. .

Sub-polls, which have been conducted along with by-elections in other states of the country, are crucial in Tripura because Prime Minister Dr Manik Saha is himself a candidate for one of the assembly seats.

Manek Saha, who replaced his predecessor Biplab Kumar Deep in a surprise decision last month, had no prior experience in direct elections.

He was elected a Rajya Sabha member earlier, just a few weeks before his nomination for the CM post arrived, amid strong reservations from some members of his cabinet among other BJP leaders.

Apart from his seat, a general election has been held in Agartala constituency, with ex-minister Sudeep Roy Barman fighting for the homeland against first-time candidate and BJP Vice President Dr Ashok Sinha.

Having Bypolls in those two seats was essential after two seated MLAs – Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Kumar Saha – resigned before moving from the BJP to Congress earlier this year.

In Surma constituency, a BJP legislator was disqualified for changing political parties, all on his own, while former Assembly Speaker and CPI(M) MLA RC Debnath died in Jubarajnagar’s mid-term seat.

Leave a Comment