Rajya Sabha polling today for two seats from Haryana

The high-stakes Rajya Sabha elections will be held in Haryana on Friday with two seats from the state.

There are three candidates in the fray – BJP’s Krishan Banwar, a former transport minister and five-time MLA; Congressman Ajay McCain. Independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma is a media baron and son of ousted Congress Party leader and former Union Minister Vinod Sharma.

The frantic lobbying and resort politics by both Congress, the BJP coalition and the BJP, amid allegations of horse handling, will come to an end today as MLAs begin arriving at Vidhan Sabha to cast their votes.

BJP’s Krishan Panwar is set to comfortably reach the Rajya Sabha with 31 clear votes in his favour. The main competition is for the second seat between McCain and Sharma, with either of them needing 30 votes.

The best of Express Premium
8 km elevated road, 3 'toe bridges' to the Ghats: UP govt comes with…excellent
Rajiv Mahrishi: Finance Minister, Home Minister and CAG - Now Pickled M...excellent
secret delhi: helpexcellent
Explanation: Why Bond Yields Are Rising, What It Means For Markets And…excellent

Although Congress has 31 MLAs, the party is anticipating a last-minute cross-vote or “surprises” by the ruling BJP-JJP coalition. The top leadership of the Congress also made desperate attempts to assuage the wrath of Kuldeep Bishnoi, who was sulky at not being appointed as Congress President.

Kuldeep and Bhupinder Singh Hooda arrived in Chandigarh on Thursday evening on the same Delhi-Chandigarh Vistara flight. However, Bishnoi did not say that he would support the congressional candidate.

In addition to 10 JJP MLAs and 9 BJPs, as of Friday morning, at least six independent candidates have declared their support for Karticeya Sharma. INLD’s Abhay Chautala also announced his support for Sharma.

Congress, however, is confident that, having sufficient numbers, its candidate Ajay Makin will make it safely to the Rajya Sabha.

Haryana numbers Vidhan Sabha

In the 90-member Haryana Vidhan Sabha, there are 40 BJP MLAs, 31 Congress MLAs, 10 JJP MLAs, seven Independent MLAs, and one each from the Indian National Lok Dal and Haryana Lokhit Party.

Forty-three MLAs are juniors, a maximum of 17 of them in the BJP, while 14 are from Congress, six are from JJP and many are independents.

Swinging between two or three MLAs—whether through mutual voting or abstentions—can change the equations for candidates.

Haryana Rajya Sabha Elections: Polling Schedule

* Venue – Haryana Vidan Sabha

* Time – 9 am to 4 pm

* Counting the votes – 5 pm

Manipur Election Commissioner Rajesh Aggarwal and Haryana Chief Executive Officer, Anurag Aggarwal, appointed as the central supervisors, conduct the poll.

A stylus by the Election Commission must be used by all MLAs to cast their votes. No other pen/ink can be used.

MLAs are not permitted to carry cell phones.

The BJP and Congress are the two national parties. Both have appointed party monitors. MLAs are required to cast their vote in front of their party’s monitors. If none of the MLA shows his/her vote to the observer, and the observer objects to this, the vote may be disqualified.

Independent MLAs, JJP MLAs, Gopal Kanda of Haryana Lokhit Party and Abhay Chautala of Indian National Lok Dal do not need to show their voice to anyone.

Leave a Comment