Prez polls: Mamata invites 22 Oppn leaders to attend June 15 meet. Full list | Latest News India

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee convened a meeting of opposition leaders at the Constitution Club in Delhi on June 15. Trinamool Congress chief has sent an invitation to 22 opposition leaders to attend the meeting as competition for Raisina Hills is heating up.

“As the presidential election is approaching, West Bengal’s respected CM Mamata Banerjee, with a strong and effective opposition initiative against the separatist forces, has reached out to opposition CMs and leaders to attend a joint meeting,” the Trinamool Congress statement read.

Since winning the Bengal Assembly elections of 2021, Mamata Banerjee has been aggressively pushing for a united opposition to fight the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Narendra Modi-Amit Shah combination in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Among the 22 invitees to Banerjee’s rally were Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Telangana CMK Chandrasekhar Rao and Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.

Also Read: Presidential election: NDA candidate benefits

Here is the full list of opposition leaders invited to attend Wednesday’s TMC chiefs’ meeting.

1. Arvind Kejriwal (Chief Minister, Delhi)

2. Pinarayi Vijayan (Chief Minister, Kerala)

3. Naveen Patnaik (Chief Minister, Odisha)

4. Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao (Chief Minister, Telangana)

5. MK Stalin (Chief Minister, Tamil Nadu)

6. Uddhav Thackeray (Chief Minister, Maharashtra)

7. Hemant Soren (Chief Minister, Jharkhand)

8. Bhagwant Singh Mann (Chief Minister, Punjab)

9. Sonia Gandhi (President, INC)

10. Lalu Prasad Yadav (Chairman, RJD)

11. d. Raja (General Secretary, CPI)

12. Sitaram Yechury (General Secretary, CPIM)

13. Akhilesh Yadav (President, Socialist Party)

14. Sharad Pawar (Chairman, NCP)

15. Jayant Chaudhary (National President, RLD)

16. HD Kumaraswamy (Former CM of Karnataka)

17. HD Deve Gowda (MP, Former Prime Minister of India)

18. Farooq Abdullah (President, JKNC)

19. Mehbooba Mufti (Chairman, PDP)

20. S. Sukhbir Singh Badal (President, Shiromani Akali)

21. Pawan Chamling (President, Sikkim Democratic Front)

22. KM Khader Mohideen (President, IUML)

Also Read: Presidential Election: The candidate must have 50 MPs, legislators, proponents, and 50 more.

The presidential election will be held on July 18 and the counting of votes will take place on July 21. President Ram Nath Kovind’s five-year term ends on July 24.

Leave a Comment