National parties battle, regional players keep their presence intact | Latest News India

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress (BJP) have contested all 16 seats of the four states in the Biennale election this month, but the number of members elected by the regional party remains largely unchanged. Required

Of the 57 outgoing members of the upper house, 25 MPs represented 12 regional parties, with one elected as an independent candidate. After this round of voting, the number of 24 members representing 13 regional parties stands, with two independent candidates entering the Rajya Sabha.

The two independent candidates are BJP-backed Kapil Sibal and businessman Karthikeya Sharma, who were elected with the support of the Samajwadi Party from Uttar Pradesh, who narrowly won the tightly contested election in Haryana.

Among the regional parties, Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress party was the biggest gainer after the election. All four candidates of the ruling party in Andhra Pradesh were seen as friendly to the BJP, unanimously elected.

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), the ruling alliance of Tamil Nadu, the Congress’ ally, has won three seats, like Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD). The six seats in Tamil Nadu that went to the polls are now split between the DMK (three), AIADMK (two) and the Congress (one). He has been in power in Odisha since 2000 and is friendly to the BJP.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) led by K Chandrasekhar Rao has won two Rajya Sabha seats from the state. In Bihar, Lalu Prasad’s National Janata Dal (RJD) won two seats just like the BJP, while Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) managed to send just one MP.

Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won two seats in Punjab, increasing its Rajya Sabha seat to 10.

In the Uttar Pradesh, both the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) lost two seats each, leaving the vacant seats in this round of voting. SP managed to win back one and Sibal, along with his ally RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary, supported the upper house.

The Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have won one seat each.

Leave a Comment