Centre exempts Central Universities in NE states, Uttarakhand from CUET

The Union Government has exempted eight central universities in the North East and one in Uttarakhand from conducting the Common University Entrance Test (CUET) for admission to undergraduate programmes.

In a letter to the registrars of exempted universities, the center attributed the decision to “operational difficulties.” The northeastern states had contacted the center in this regard, suggesting the letter, which was sent on May 19.

“In view of the operational difficulties in conducting the CUET exam, i.e. the issue of geographical conditions, mountainous terrain, remote location, limited digital connectivity, infrastructure, etc., it was decided that the central universities in the North East region… as well as HNB Garhwal said the Ministry of Education In its notification, the University of Uttarakhand may admit into faculties affiliated with Central Universities as per prior practice instead of CUET for 2022-23 year only.

In the northeast, Sikkim University, Rajiv Gandhi University in Arunachal Pradesh, University of Manipur, Assam University, University of Nagaland, University of Tripura, University of Mizoram and Northeastern Hill University in Meghalaya have been exempted from CUET.

Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate programs at most central universities will be based on CUET scores from the 2022-23 academic session.

Leave a Comment