Birmingham Games: Australia retain World Cup winning squad for CWG

The Australian women’s cricket team has retained its World Cup winning team for the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, as it will open its campaign against India on July 29.

Australia named the same team for the T20I triple series with Ireland and Pakistan as well.

The trilogy in Northern Ireland offers a perfect preparation for Meg Lanning’s side, under interim coach Shelley Nitschke, who will have to rise following the departure of Matthew Mott.

Mott took over the coaching role of men’s white ball coach in England.

Besides dominating the over-50 World Cup in New Zealand, Team Lanning are also T20 World Cup champions, racking up recent string of coordinated wins over rivals England and India.

“Outside the team, both Tyla Flamenk (knee) and Georgia Wareham (ankle) continue to qualify for the injury, although it is unlikely that both will appear for most of the Australian summer later this year,” the ICC said in a statement.

“While being selected on the team, Elise Perry has yet to fully recover from stress fractures in her lower back and is expected to play only as a hitter on the tour.

“How far she is in the bowl will depend on her progress in the coming weeks and on medical advice” according to team physician, Kate Bearworth.

Australian Commonwealth Games Team: Meg Lanning (centre), Rachel Haynes (VC), Darcy Brown, Nicola Curry, Ashley Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Elise Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabelle Sutherland, Amanda- Good Wellington

T20I Tri-Series Fittings

July 16: Australia vs Pakistan
July 17: ireland vs australia
July 21: ireland vs australia
July 23: pakistan vs australia

Australian Commonwealth Games Group matches

July 29: Australia vs India
July 31: Barbados vs Australia
August 3rd: Australia vs Pakistan.

Leave a Comment